Final Reflections on Advanced Instructional Design

Before this course, I never thought about a particular instructional design as being any more advanced than any other. As I worked through the materials for this course preparing my own advanced instructional design projects and watching the presentations of my peers, I observed definite trends in what constituted an advanced instructional design model. Among the things that stood out as features of advanced models, I noticed that many were student-led or student-focused. Many of these methods had a heavy emphasis on collaboration. Problem-solving and/or inquiry were present in many of the models. Many included authentic opportunities for learning which were modeled after or involved actual interaction with real problems or real situation in the workplace. Many models were iterative and systemic in nature, in which all parts of the model touched every other part and evaluation was woven throughout each phase of the project. Although many of the models seemed simple on the surface or appeared rooted in models based on direct instruction, the more they were broken down, the more of these common elements seemed to be present.

I thoroughly enjoyed developing the prototype for the game with my teammates. While I am not a programmer and do not have the skills to develop a full-fledged game, designing one stretched the edges of my imagination and helped me think about the elements that make a game exciting and fun to play, as well as what elements would need to be built into the game to permit free play and multiple outcomes, yet still meet the learning objectives. While I felt we were able to come up with a successful solution to the module we designed, I was sorry there was not time to fully develop all the modules. If my teammate is able to turn this into a live project at his campus, I would be interested in continuing to work with him on this effort.

The biggest impact the course might have had on my life came as I attempted to describe what I was learning and doing to a colleague at my school. Though trained in Instructional Technology, he does not have a background in design theory and lacks more than a cursory understanding of the ADDIE framework. The concept of following a design model is foreign to him and the thought that some models might be advanced was a completely new idea. As I went over some of the basics of instructional design theory and explained what I’d learned about the elements that made an ID model advanced, I not only helped to inform a colleague but cemented the ideas in my own mind.

Leave a Reply

