Reflecting on Instructional Design

It was interesting to review the instructional design (ID) process from a different perspective. Up until this point, I have examined the process through the eyes of Morrison, Ross, Kalman, & Kemp (2011) and followed their design principles. The process laid out in Piskurich’s (2006) text, though similarly ordered, is designed to take place much more rapidly, contains many shortcuts, and is infinitely more practical for the busy professional, particularly one like me who is often acting as an entire ID team.

I often work on short term projects like this and had never even really considered them ID projects until this class. This has forced me to take the time not only to intentionally think about the analysis and design stages of my shorter projects, but to go back and evaluate the results. While I am still waiting for the results from the second design project, the results of the evaluation from the first project indicated that the lesson was largely successful but did point out areas where the lesson needed to be reworked or improved. These insights were important even for the success of a small project like this involving only one lesson, and it demonstrates all the more the importance of evaluation for larger-scale projects.

Although I was disappointed that this course was not more tool-oriented and initially felt I should have waived the course, I do not resent the time spent as it has proved to be a valuable learning experience which has helped me hone and refine my skills as an ID professional.

References:
Morrison, G. R., Ross, S. M., Kalman, H. K., & Kemp, J. E. (2011). Designing Effective Instruction (6th ed.). Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Piskurich, G. M. (2006). Rapid instructional design: Learning ID fast and right (2nd ed.). Wiley.com.

One response to “Reflecting on Instructional Design

  1. Glad to know that even as a professional that works as an instructional designer, there are areas for improvement. I found it to be challenging but learned a lot about the process. I still have areas to grasp but well on my way of understanding how to design instruction. That means that educators and professionals should never become complacent and content with one way of structuring a class or lesson. It can change each time the course is offered. I have noticed that the CECS department has collected the results of our surveys and made changes according to the student needs and feedback. Looking forward to learning more!

Leave a Reply

